04
Dec
08

Medellin Weekend Edition

Pre-Colombian Gold-WorkOk, so its not quite the weekend but thats the title that popped into my mind, so there you have it.  For those of you who haven’t been in contact with me lately and missed the note that I posted on the site a while back (or didn’t yet know that the site had been moved to this new server), I am not, in fact, still in Costa Rica, lol.  I’m (still) here in Medellin, Colombia, where I’ve been camping out for some time, taking a break from my trip (yep, you’d be surprised how exhausting hundreds of hours on a bicycle can be), and using it as a satellite base from which to visit many of the gorgeous and culturally rich faces of Colombia.

However, early this coming week I will finally be Southward bound and on my way to Ecuador.  By day’s end on Monday I should have set sail from Medellin, and soon thereafter hope to arrive in the colonial white-washed city of Popayan in Southern Colombia.  The plan from there is to try to make it out to three sites of interest before my Colombian visa expires and I’m forced to flee the country.  The first is Tierradentro, the archaeological funeral site of a pre-colombian civilization in which the human remains, carvings and a few statues of that civilization are still preserved.  The next is San Augustin, which is somewhat similar, bus is especially famous for having a great number of statues reflecting the mythological and religious beliefs of that culture.  And the last is the the cathedral at Las Lajas, a seemingly gorgeous structure which to me is somewhat reminiscent of the castle from Bram Stoker’s Dracula (I suppose thats why it intrigues me most ;).  The cathedral was built in a gothical revival architecture and has an impressive high arched bridge which spans a deep canyon over the Guaitara River, near the Colombian border with Ecuador.

So there you have it, that’s the plan for my remaining time here in Colombia before crossing into Ecuador.  I’m working hard to get as caught up as possible on my old journal entries from Central America (which is why my posts from Costa Rica are just now popping up), but if I don’t get them finished before leaving Medellin I’ll try to take advantage of the last few days of my visa and get it all wrapped up while in Popayan.  Thanks again for keeping up with my travels and if you have a moment, leave me a comment with any feedback or to let me know what you think about the new site – or even just to say hi!

0 Responses to “Medellin Weekend Edition”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

