16
Dec
08

Departure from Popayan & Twitterizing

img_2917So tomorrow I leave Popayan to head towards the city of Pasto, near the Ecuadorian border.  I don’t have many days left before my Colombian visa expires, so hopefully I can high-tail it out there and still have enough time to see the gothic cathedral of Las Lajas near the border town of Ipiales before I have to flee the country.

Also, you may have noticed the new little “ipedaler news” header on the navigation sidebar.  That’s my Twitter feed, which I think that I could have quite a lot of fun with ;).  For those of you who aren’t familiar with Twitter, its basically allows me to give you real time status updates of my journey from my cell phone or computer – although there is one catch.  It appears that my US SIM card has, sadly, died, and with my Colombian pre-paid plan I can’t send the text message updates to Twitter.  However I am working on getting a new SIM card and should hopefully have it in the next week or two.  Then I can send roadside updates of me grumbling and moaning while riding uphill in the rain through the Andes, send instant updates from amazing archeological sites and remote indigenous villages (yeah, most of ’em get cell reception these days… wild eh?), and so much more lol.  So anyway, I’ll keep you posted as to how that all shapes up, and until then I’ll do quick updates from online more frequently.

Am currently working on the next installation of the journey through Panama and should have it up later this evening or tomorrow morning, and that will put me pretty darn close to the end of North America and the beginning of the tall-ship journey through the Caribbean to Colombia.  Ok, back to work!

Oh yeah, and tons of new photos in the gallery to check out!

0 Responses to “Departure from Popayan & Twitterizing”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

