30
Dec
08

Quitosis

Mister EcuadorHola from Quito, Ecuador!  Ok, nice country, but they´ve got some serious internet service issues around here.  Haven´t actually connected to WiFi since arriving (about two weeks ago!), and not for lack of trying. Plus, everywhere that I find internet, its a real piece.

Anyway, so here I am, and since arriving in Ecuador I must say that its been the best of the best and the worst of the worst (ok, really only on one issue which you might have already learned about from my Twitter feed).  Had a few 100km+ bike rides while racing towards Quito after crossing the Ecuadorian border, and although I had intended to be pedaling through the Ecuadorian desert for Christmas, when I got there it just didn´t seem all that appetizing to me to break out the camping equipment – so I decided to torture myself on the twenty kilometer uphill, steep ascent to Quito – mierda!

Miraculously, I arrived in Quito on Christmas Eve!  Then, the following morning I deserted my bicycle in the city and hopped on a bus to Baños to meet up with Sarah, my English buddy from Colombia, to ring in the holidays.  Had an absolutely spectacular time in Baños for the next two and a half days (yes, very drunk… whose idea was it to sell bottles of rum and wine for $2 anyway??).

Finally headed back to Quito to meet up with Elkin who was flying in from Medellin, and also to send off Sarah (who was off to Rio de Janeiro for the new year) and my new friend Adrea.  Had some nice sight seeing around Quito before getting my pants slashed and my wallet stolen on a crowded bus, however that really dampened my spirits (even though they only got my five bucks haha).

After fighting thousands of dollars of fraudulent charges on all of my cards and getting them canceled, I finally returned to my old self and today we headed up the TeleferiQuo (a ski lift up the mountainside alongside Quito) to climb Ruku Pichincha.  Have to say, it was one of the hardest climbs I´ve ever done – gasping for air and scrambling up a crumbling rock face – and, sadly, I forgot my camera!

Anyway, thats as far as I´ve gotten so far, just gearing up for the big New Years bash here in Quito tomorrow night.  I would update more, but I could barely stand to write this much, as each time I press the delete button it takes two minutes for the computer to figure it out and ten minutes for each page to load or sentence to appear.  The quest for decent internet continues, and will keep you posted!  Also, without WiFi, photos can´t make it online either, so hopefully will get that figure out soon.

Ok, much love to all and a phenomenal New Year!  Don´t let strange people rub you up in crowded buses and trains!

xoxo

12 Responses to “Quitosis”


  1. 1 Momster
    January 2, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    I still have no address to mail sim card to…… Sorry to hear about getting robbed! I tried to put a donation on cc but address wrong and I did not change correctly – hope you get it with love, Momster

  2. 2 sarah
    January 12, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    It was indeed probably one of the best christmas’s in a long long time..thank you so much…see you in RIO
    kissssssssssy

  3. March 31, 2013 at 8:53 pm

    Great product at Great Prices, Many thanks.

  4. April 19, 2013 at 6:02 am

    It’s only 10%, nevertheless the code still works

  5. April 23, 2013 at 5:59 am

    Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is fundamental and all. However think about if you added some great photos or video clips to give your posts
    more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and
    videos, this site could undeniably be one of the greatest in its niche.
    Great blog!

  6. April 29, 2013 at 4:11 am

    Thanks for the thoughts you are discussing on this blog. Another thing I would really like
    to say is always that getting hold of copies of your credit
    report in order to check accuracy of each detail will be the first step you have to conduct in credit restoration.

    You are looking to thoroughly clean your credit reports
    from destructive details flaws that mess up your credit score.

  7. May 8, 2013 at 10:43 pm

    Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email.
    I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  8. May 27, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    Fantastic web site. A lot of useful info here.
    I am sending it to several buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And obviously, thank you in your sweat!

  9. June 2, 2013 at 8:37 pm

    Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!
    Very useful information specifically the last part 🙂 I
    care for such info a lot. I was looking for this certain
    information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  10. June 17, 2013 at 9:22 am

    Hi there! This blog post could not be written much better!
    Reading through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept talking about this. I most certainly
    will send this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a very good read.
    I appreciate you for sharing!

  11. July 17, 2013 at 11:21 am

    Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good results.
    If you know of any please share. Thank you!

  12. March 3, 2014 at 7:30 am

    I’ll immediately snatch your rss as I can not in finding your email subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please permit me recognise in order that I may just subscribe.
    Thanks.


Leave a Reply

