26
Jan
09

The Road to the Peruvian Border

Mexico in CuencaI’ve had a few requests as to my route over the next few weeks, and as I may soon lose most contact with the world (with the exception of a stop in about three to four days) and not be sitting in front of my computer waiting for FedEx all day anymore, I figured I’d go ahead and clue you all in while I still can.

Tomorrow morning I’ll be cycling South from Cuenca and I believe that it is about a three to four day journey to Vilcabamba, where I’ll take one more break before heading on to the border.  Between here and Vilcabamba I’ve been told that it might be somewhat trying terrain, and, thereafter it is supposed to be brutally unfriendly weather in addition to the endless up and down mountain landscape.  I think that from Vilcabamba to the Peruvian border it will be about three to four days.

Then after the border, there doesn’t appear to be a whole lot of civilization for the next few hundred miles.  That means that I’ll be traveling through small provincial villages and mountains until I reach the Chiclayo, on the Peruvian coast.  Chiclayo should be a decent small sized city and will mark the beginning of my ride down Peru’s desert coastline.

Either way I’ll try to send you all an update from Vilcabamba in a few days to let you know the outlook.  Until then, peace!  I’m (finally) out!

1 Response to “The Road to the Peruvian Border”


  1. 1 Momster
    January 31, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    Hey Sweetheart, when you say brutal weather do you mean cold? I hope those socks and glove liners will help. I am going to try and find a map with those towns on so I can visualize where you are. Take care and look forward to hearing from you in a few days,love, love, love, all you need is love…..


Leave a Reply

